Mailbases

Our Jiscmail mailbase offers a vibrant community where members, who are often lone practitioners, can share good practice and innovation, discuss issues and get support. To join please apply to bacp-uc-members-request@jiscmail.ac.uk

Our special interest groups (SIGs) also have their own mailbases. To join please email:

UC members listbacp-uc-members-request@jiscmail.ac.uk

HUCS members listhucs-request@jiscmail.ac.uk

FE and SFC list - counsellors-in-fe-request@jiscmail.ac.uk

Staff counselling list - sig-staff-counselling-uk-request@jiscmail.ac.uk

Special interest groups

Heads of University Counselling Services (HUCS) SIG

HUCS is for lead counsellors with clinical responsibility.

Contacts

Chair 
Alan Percy, Head of Counselling, University of Oxford
Tel: 01865 (2) 70300 Email: alan.percy@admin.ox.ac.uk

Secretary
Trevor Butlin, Team leader: Counselling and Wellbeing, De Montfort University
Tel: 0116 2078602 Email: tbutlin@dmu.ac.uk

Membership secretary
Helen Bentley, Counselling Service Manager, University of Loughborough
Tel: 01509 222148 Email: h.bentley@lboro.ac.uk

Scottish representative
Ronnie Millar, Director of Counselling, University of Edinburgh
Tel: 0131 650 4170 Email: ronnie.millar@ed.ac.uk

Events co-ordinator
Charlotte Williams, Head of Counselling, Birkbeck, University of London
Email: charlotte.williams@bbk.ac.uk

Treasurer
Dr Val Watson, Head of Counselling, University of Nottingham
Tel:  0115 951 3695 Email: val.watson@nottingham.ac.uk

Penelope Aspinall, Head of Disability, Counselling and Mental Health
Tel: 01274 233739 (Disability; Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays) 01274 235750 (Counselling; Tuesdays, Thursdays)
Mob: 07468 718484 Email: p.aspinall@bradford.ac.uk

To join the HUCS mailbase please apply to hucs-request@jiscmail.ac.uk

HUCS also offers a mentoring and consultation scheme for heads of service. For information, please contact Géraldine Dufour Tel: 01223 332865. Email: geraldine.dufour@admin.cam.ac.uk

Forthcoming events

In 2018, HUCS meetings will focus on a different aspect of our theme for the year 'Holding on to our value'. This reflects our desire to engage intelligently and reflectively with our institutions and senior managers while recognising the growing pressures and demands we are all operating under.

15 June 2018
Edinburgh University

Counsellors in FE and SFC sub committee

This sub committee works to promote the voice and interests of counsellors working within FE institutions and sixth form colleges. We submit articles to the journal and have produced research into pay scales and conditions. We also collaboratively produced a video promoting counselling services in FE and SFC. Most of our members are on the jiscmail, our most immediate and vibrant resource. 

Contacts

Chair
Mary Jones , Newcastle-under-Lyme College
Tel: 01782 254329 Email: mary.jones@nulc.ac.uk

Jane Darougar, Leyton College
Email: jane.darougar@leyton.ac.uk

Kirsten Amis, Glasgow Clyde College
Email: kamis@glasgowclyde.ac.uk

Gillian Yorke, St John Rigby College
Email: gillian.yorke@sjr.ac.uk

To join the FE mailbase please contact Mary Jones or apply to counsellors-in-fe-request@jiscmail.ac.uk 

Staff Counselling SIG

For members who work with staff in HE and FE settings.

Contacts

Jules Howdin, University of Liverpool
Email: j.howdin@liverpool.ac.uk

Bridget Hazell, Loughborough University
Email: K.B.Hazell@lboro.ac.uk

Eamonn O’Mahony, University of East Anglia
Email: e.omahony@uea.ac.uk

Mandy Montgomery, Macclesfield College
Email: mandy.montgomery@macclesfield.ac.uk

To join the staff counselling mailbase please apply to sig-staff-counselling-uk-request@jiscmail.ac.uk

BACP UC events

Search for BACP events relating to Universities and Colleges