Current officers and governors


David Weaver

Vice Presidents

Professor Dame Sue Bailey
Luciana Berger MP
John Cowley
Nancy Rowland
Julia Samuel


Andrew Reeves

Deputy Chair

Caryl Sibbett

Board of Governors

Natalie Bailey
Una Cavanagh
Val Elliott
Myira Khan
Andrew Kinder
Julie May
Moira Sibbald
Vanessa Stirum
Mhairi Thurston

Our Governors are elected, appointed or co-opted to oversee our strategic direction and the management of the Association. Representing and accountable to our members, their role is to provide strong leadership, enhance our decision making and to make sure that we achieve our objectives.

Senior leadership team

The day-to-day management of the Association is delegated to Hadyn Williams, Chief Executive Officer, and his senior leadership team:

Hadyn Williams, Chief Executive Officer
Cristian Holmes, Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer
Fiona Ballantine-Dykes, Chief Professional Standards Officer
Steve Cantell, Head of ICT
Christina Docchar, Registrar
Suky Kaur, Head of Policy
Suzie O'Neill, Head of Communications
Michael Young, Interim Head of Finance
Chelsea Shelley, Head of Membership and Operations
Dr Clare Symons, Head of Research
John Woolley, Head of People, Culture and Governance


We're currently establishing six committees to oversee the activities of the Association.

  • Audit, Risk and Performance Committee
    has delegated responsibility for managing our risk profile and audits our existing operational policies

  • Finance and Policy Committee
    has delegated responsibility for our financial strategy, budget processes and creating our operational policies

  • Membership and Professional Standards Committee
    has delegated responsibility for our membership and professional standards strategies, diversity within membership, membership services and standards, divisions, professional standards service and development of the Ethical Framework

  • Public Protection Committee
    has delegated responsibility for our public protection strategy, development of the BACP Register and professional conduct functions

  • Remuneration and Governance Committee
    has delegated responsibility for considering and determining the framework for the remuneration and benefits of our CEO and senior staff members

  • Research Committee
    has delegated responsibility for developing, informing and monitoring our research strategy, overseeing our research procedures, policies and plans, and approving and reviewing research projects.